top of page
Search

Book 2 - 2024

I'm putting the date here and now so it will actually happen.


Book 2 has been edited. Excellent.

Book 2 needed major changes. Less excellent.


Overall I was happy with the quality of the writing in book 2, but there were story elements that just weren't hitting like I wanted them to. The editor pointed out the good and the bad, which prompted a bit of a re-write. This resulted in about 2/5 of book 2 being re-written. Weirdly, the issues I thought they would point out weren't, and other overlooked aspects were highlighted. It is great to have someone point these things out, I really needed it.


I am happy to report that the second draft of book 2 is now complete and I am I trying to organize a round 2 of edits, mostly for the same editor to look at these changes. I am WAY happier with the manuscript now, these changes were necessary and I ultimately think this is far more polished than I had anticipated.


A cover design is on the way with a local artist. We had a meeting about it recently and they are designing the cover as we speak. I will hopefully upload that here as the publishing process progresses. Speaking of, I would like to go for the self-publishing route. After some thought, I think making it freely available online is a good way to get some interest, especially since this feels like a better story that I could promote more confidently. I can only really make the book free if I'm the only one involved, so self-publishing it is! Also, making it available online only (at least initially) requires a lot less work... I think... probably? There will be some other internal designs needed, but I am confident I can tackle that and I get my artist to help out as well. If I need some extra advice, or possibly a bit of help with the internal designs, I may reach out to FriesenPress again, but only for the design portion, that was probably my favourite collaboration with them anyway.


I would like some physical copies of book 2 eventually, but since it would a super limited release (close friends and family) I can go all out on the design, make it really shiny! The artist and I could have some fun it this...


TL;DR Book 2 is looking good. Slow progress because of life stuff, but happy with it. No need to rush it anyway. IT WILL BE RELEASED IN 2024, I HAVE SAID SO!


Book 1 audiobook? Eurgh, I'm probably not touching this project until book 2 is really done and the digital version of it has been started at least. It would be cool to have the book 1 audiobook free at the same time book 2 is released for free, so maybe this is a next year thing (tentatively, let's say July). Then I can release both book 1 audiobook and digital book 2 at the same time for free for maximum attention. One step at a time though.


Book 3 writing? Good actually. Since book 2 had to be re-written, it slowed the writing of book 3 a little. But, it has made me far more confident on the content of book 3 and the storylines are lined up better. I'll tackle book 3 little by little as book 2 is finished off, it is a good idea to have some self-correcting going so there is consistency between books in the same series.


I have been doing a lot more reading this year. Which has been awesome for my own writing and I have been heavily inspired by many of the stories I've read. Turns out, I like reading in first person, but prefer to write in third person. Who knew. Octavia Butler has been my favourite author this year and it has prompted me to put down some ideas for short stories. Maybe something will come of it? I don't know but the prospect is fun.



Recent Posts

See All

It is getting there!

Keeping this update short. The second book was changed quite a bit (about 2/5 of the manuscript) with a lot of storylines being brought forward from book 3. This made me consider getting it re-edited,

Slow Progress

The new job became demanding as the first half of the year comes to a close, but I thoroughly enjoy it. No complaints. On top of that, I had to move, which occupied a lot of my time and focus. These

Anthropological notes

To add to the story and lore, a character was added at the end of the publication process of book 1. The character has since become an integral part of the story, most of which is yet to be revealed.

bottom of page